MLK Jr Commemoration, 2021

In celebration of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, the Carlisle MLK Commemoration Event Committee sponsors a creative project for grades 1-12 in the Carlisle Area School District each year. Students were encouraged to work independently or collaboratively on a project that speaks to this year’s theme: “Remember! Celebrate! Act! Pursuing the Dream: Uniting in Truth and Love.” Please take some time to peruse the submitted projects!

Collaborative Project from Mt. Holly Springs Elementary School
Collaborative Project from Hamilton Elementary School - 4th Grade
Collaborative Project from Hamilton Elementary School - 5th Grade
Collaborative Project Lamberton Middle School - 8th Grade
Letter to Dr. King by Ana Bondy (Lamberton Middle School, 7th Grade
"Change" - a poem by Graham Lively (CHS, 11th Grade)

"I think we should help each other."
~ Ali Mohamed (Lamberton Middle School, 6th Grade)

"In my community, I see evidence of individuals coming together to confront the truth in today's reality on May 30th when a protest for the Black Lives Matter movement illuminated the struggles of prejudice against people of colored races for Carlisle to acknowledge and understand."
~ Hailey Line (CHS, 11th Grade)

MLK Scholarship Opportunity

Together with the generous support of its sponsors, the MLK Commemoration Committee awards several scholarships each year based on academic achievement, extracurricular involvement, and civic engagement. High school seniors as well as current college students are encouraged to apply for these scholarships. 

For the past several years, these scholarships have been awarded at our January MLK Commemoration service. Due to the pandemic, however, the committee has decided to delay the awarding of scholarships this year until May, a schedule we’ll plan to retain for future years as well.

2020-2021 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship Winners
Joseph Brown (Liberty University)
Daija Berry (West Chester University)
Destiny McFalls (Dickinson College)
Brookelynn Carpenter (Shippensburg University)